Diagnosis and Treatment of Alcohol Addiction

Alcohol Addiction in Austria

Alcoholism in Austria is widespread:

An estimated 340,000 Austrian men and women are currently considered to be alcohol-dependent, almost one in four adults consumes alcohol to an extent that endangers their health. Although the total number of alcohol-dependent persons has remained stable in recent years, the relative percentage of women is rising significantly, while that of men has fallen slightly. Approximately 10% of Austrians will suffer an alcohol addiction during their lifetime and will therefore need some form of treatment.

When does alcohol use require treatment?

When trying to determine whether a person has a problem with alcohol consumption the following distinctions are made: Unproblematic alcohol consumption differs from the misuse of alcohol as in the latter case alcohol is consumed with the intention of achieving a specific effect (reducing stress, “switching off”, lifting one’s mood, calming nerves, easing anxiety or pain, “loosening up”).
 
A person is alcohol dependent if he or she has little or no control over when, for how long and how much alcohol he or she drinks. A craving or compulsive desire to drink is a key symptom of alcohol addiction. 
 
Alcohol withdrawal refers to symptoms that occur when a heavy drinker stops drinking and include shaking, sweating, sleeplessness, restlessness and nausea or vomiting in the morning. These symptoms ease initially if there is a renewed intake of alcohol. Psychological withdrawal symptoms such as anxiety and depressive moods may occur in addition to the physical symptoms.
 
A dependence on alcohol may develop as a result of excessive drinking and is a chronic disease that requires treatment, for example an alcohol therapy, just like other chronic illnesses. 
 
One especially problematic aspect of alcohol addiction is the development of tolerance and the resulting need to increase alcohol intake. This means that more and more alcohol has to be consumed to achieve the same effect. Many people with alcohol use disorders also neglect other interests and activities to engage in alcohol consumption. Despite the demonstrably harmful effects users persist in alcohol consumption.
 
The goal of alcohol addiction treatment is to minimise the harmful physical and psychological effects of the substance abuse. 
 
The treatment programme at the Anton Proksch Institute in Vienna is based on the assumption of a link between the body and mind (concept of corporeality). The treatment programme therefore takes account of these different aspects.

Further Information about Alcohol Dependence:

Diagnose und Therapie der Alkoholsucht

Alkoholsucht in Österreich

Der Alkoholismus in Österreich ist weit verbreitet:
Geschätzte 340 000 ÖsterreicherInnen gelten derzeit als alkoholabhängig, nahezu jeder vierte Erwachsene konsumiert Alkohol in einem gesundheitsgefährdenden Ausmaß. Obwohl die Gesamtzahl der alkoholkranken Menschen in den letzten Jahren nahezu gleich geblieben ist, nimmt der relative Anteil der Frauen deutlich zu, während der der Männer leicht sinkt. Rund 10% der ÖsterreicherInnen erkranken im Laufe ihres Lebens an einer Alkoholsucht und brauchen deshalb eine entsprechende Therapie.

Wann ist eine Behandlung der Alkoholsucht sinnvoll?

Um festzustellen, ob es sich um einen problematischen Alkoholkonsum handelt gibt es folgende Unterscheidungen: Unbedenklicher Alkoholkonsum unterscheidet sich von missbräuchlichem Konsum dahingehend, dass bei letzterem das Trinken von Alkohol eine Funktion übernimmt („Stressabbau, Abschalten“, Stimmung verbessern, Beruhigung, Angst- bzw. Schmerzlöser, „Locker werden“).
 
Eine Abhängigkeit von Alkohol liegt dann vor, wenn der/die Betroffene schlecht oder gar nicht kontrollieren kann, wann, bis wann und wie viel Alkohol er/sie trinkt. Auch ein starker Wunsch oder eine Art Zwang, zu trinken – auch Craving genannt – ist ein zentrales Merkmal für Alkoholsucht. 
 
Der Entzug von Alkohol, also wenn ein/e Betroffene/r keinen Alkohol trinkt, äußert sich vor allem in Symptomen wie Zittern, Schwitzen, Schlaflosigkeit, innere Unruhe und morgendliche Übelkeit bis zum Erbrechen. Diese werden zunächst gelindert, wenn erneut konsumiert wird. Weitere psychische Entzugserscheinungen wie Angstzustände und depressive Verstimmungen können zusätzlich zu den körperlichen Symptomen auftreten.
 
Eine Abhängigkeit von der Substanz Alkohol kann sich aus einer übermäßigen Verwendung entwickeln und zählt zu den chronischen Erkrankungen, die ebenso einer Behandlung, zum Beispiel einer Alkoholtherapie, bedürfen wie andere chronische Krankheiten. 
 
Problematisch bei einer Alkoholsucht sind vor allem die Toleranzentwicklung und die damit verbundene Dosissteigerung. Dies bedeutet, dass immer größere Alkoholmengen konsumiert wird, um denselben Effekt zu erzielen. Ebenso vernachlässigen viele Alkoholkranke ihre Interessen zugunsten des Alkoholkonsums. Trotz nachweislich schädlicher Folgen wird am Konsum festgehalten.
 
Ziel bei der Therapie der Alkoholsucht ist es, körperliche und psychische Folgeschäden zu minimieren. 
 
Die Therapie im Anton Proksch Institut in Wien geht von einem Zusammenhang zwischen Körper und Psyche (Leiblichkeitskonzept) aus. Demnach werden unterschiedliche Aspekte in der Alkoholtherapie berücksichtigt.