Diagnosis and Treatment of Gambling Addiction

Gambling Addiction

Since 1980 “pathological gambling“ - or problem gambling - has been recognised as a disorder in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM III (Koehler & Saß, 1984) and was subsequently included in the ICD-10 Classification of Mental and Behavioural Disorders (Dilling et al., 1991). A gambling addiction is when an individual continues, in many cases with increasing frequency, to gamble despite negative personal and social consequences such as debt, problems in the family or in relationships or professional difficulties. 

When Does Gambling Behaviour Require Treatment?

When discussing gambling addiction a distinction is drawn between different patterns of gambling behaviour: Social gambling, problematic gambling and pathological gambling. In the case of the latter, it is advisable to seek treatment.
  • “Social”, unproblematic gambling
    Gambling takes place in a social context and is motivated by a sense of pleasure, excitement and a desire for relaxation. The game involves a low level of risk and financial losses are insignificant.
 
  • Problem gambling
    Problem gambling behaviour is characterised by the increasing frequency of play and gambling increasing quantities. The gambler takes greater risks and feels the need to recoup lost bets. Thinking becomes increasingly irrational and perception is distorted. At the same time, relationships, recreational activities and occupational activities are neglected.
 
  • Pathological Gambling
    The term pathological gambling is used to describe a situation when gambling becomes uncontrollable. Gamblers become preoccupied with gambling. The pressure to obtain money for gambling increases as does restlessness and irritability. The player gambles to escape conflicts and often suffers from depression and suicidal thoughts. Indebtedness rises and often leads to illegal acts.
Pathological gamblers are considered to suffer from a gambling addiction and are advised to seek treatment. The Anton Proksch Institute is able to help with a variety of therapeutic approaches.

 

Therapy Programme

Diagnose und Therapie der Spielsucht

Spielsucht

Seit 1980 wird das „pathologische (Glücks-)Spielen“ – also das krankhafte Spielen, als eigenständiges Störungsbild im internationalen Klassifikationssystem der Psychiatrie DSM III (Koehler & Saß, 1984) und später im Klassifikationssystem psychischer Störungen ICD-10 (Dilling et al., 1991) geführt. Als Glücksspielsucht wird ein Verhalten bezeichnet, bei dem trotz negativer persönlicher und sozialer Konsequenzen, wie Verschuldung, Probleme in der Familie oder in Beziehungen, sowie berufliche Schwierigkeiten, immer wieder und oft auch immer mehr gespielt wird. 

Wann eine Spielsuchttherapie sinnvoll ist

Bei der Spielsucht wird zwischen unterschiedlichem Glücksspielverhaltensmustern unterschieden: Das soziale Spielen, das problematische Spielen und das pathologische (krankhafte) Spielen. Bei letzterem ist eine Therapie ratsam.
  • „Soziales“, unproblematisches Spielen
    Das Spielverhalten findet in einem sozialen Kontext statt und es geht um Freude, Aufregung und Entspannung. Das Spiel ist risikoarm und die finanziellen Verluste sind gering.

  • Problematisches Spielen
    Das problematische Spielverhalten setzt voraus, dass immer mehr gespielt wird und auch die Einsätze gesteigert werden. Das Glücksspiel wird risikoreicher und der/die SpielerIn verspürt den Drang, Verluste auszugleichen. Die Gedanken werden irrationaler und die Wahrnehmung verzerrt. Gleichzeitig werden Partnerschaft, Freizeit und Beruf vernachlässigt.

  • Pathologisches Spielen
    Von pathologischem Spielen spricht man, wenn das Spielverhalten unkontrollierbar wird. Das Glücksspiel wird zum zentralen Lebensinhalt. Der Druck, für das Spielen Geld zu beschaffen, sowie die Unruhe und Reizbarkeit steigen an. Der/die SpielerIn flüchtet sich vor Konflikten in das Spiel und leidet oft unter Depressionen und Suizidgedanken. Die Verschuldung nimmt zu und führt häufig zu Kriminalität.
Bei pathologischen SpielerInnen spricht man von Glücksspielsucht und eine Therapie ist ratsam. Das Anton Proksch Institut hilft mit unterschiedlichen Therapieansätzen.