Diagnosis and Treatment of Addiction to Prescription Drugs

Drug Addiction - Addiction to Illegal Substances

Very large numbers of people are admitted to treatment centres like the Anton Proksch Institute because of a drug addiction or dependence on illegal substances.
 
Cannabis is still the most frequently used illegal substance among the general population. Despite their strong media presence, use of “new psychoactive substances” or “designer drugs” is of comparatively minor importance. 

Drug Use in Austria

Opioid use (e.g. opium, morphine and heroin), typically in the context of poly drug use where multiple substances are used together, currently accounts for the largest share of problematic, high-risk drug use in Austria. This means that in addition to opioids (like heroin) users also consume other substances such as benzodiazepines, cocaine, amphetamines but also alcohol – usually with the opioids as the “primary drug”. 
 
Almost 30,000 people in Austria, almost half of whom live in Vienna, currently use illegal substances. One quarter of these users are female. In recent years, there has been a decline in the prevalence of high-risk opioid use among under 25-year-olds with fewer people taking up risky patterns of use.
 
It is still difficult to ascertain whether this indicates a sustainable trend. It could be due to a decline in addiction to illegal substances, or possibly a shift towards other substances, such as cannabis or methamphetamines. There are indications of a growing local methamphetamine use in the regions, for example in Upper Austria.

Drug Treatment and Addiction Counselling

The Anton Proksch Institute Vienna helps people to overcome their drug addiction. The emphasis here is on substitution treatment (drug replacement therapy) and psycho-social support.

Further Information about Drug Addiction and the Treatment Programme

Diagnose und Therapie der Drogensucht

Drogensucht – Abhängigkeit von illegalen Substanzen

Die Drogensucht oder Abhängigkeit von illegalen Substanzen führt besonders viele Menschen in Therapiezentren wie das Anton Proksch Institut.
 
Cannabis ist nach wie vor jene illegale Substanz, die in der Allgemeinbevölkerung am häufigsten konsumiert wird. Der Konsum „neuer psychoaktiver Substanzen“ oder „Designerdrogen“ spielt – entgegen seiner medialen Präsenz – nur eine eher untergeordnete Rolle. 

Drogenkonsum in Österreich

Opioidkonsum (z.B. Opium, Morphium und Heroin) macht in Österreich gegenwärtig den Hauptanteil des problematischen, risikoreichen Drogenkonsums aus, meist werden dabei mehrere Substanzen konsumiert (Polytoxikomanie). Das heißt, dass die Betroffenen neben Opioiden (wie Heroin) auch andere Substanzen wie etwa Benzodiazepine, Kokain, Amphetamine oder auch Alkohol konsumieren – meist mit den Opioiden als sogenannter „Leitdroge“. 
 
Aktuell konsumieren in Österreich knapp 30.000 Personen illegale Substanzen. Etwa die Hälfte davon lebt in Wien. Ein Viertel der insgesamt  Betroffenen ist weiblich. In den letzten Jahren gab es einen Rückgang des risikoreichen Opioidkonsums in der Altersgruppe der Unter-25-Jährigen mit weniger NeueinsteigerInnen.
 
Ob diese Entwicklung des Drogenkonsums nachhaltig ist, lässt sich noch schwer abschätzen. Sie könnte auf einen Rückgang der Suchtproblematik im Bereich illegaler Substanzen hindeuten, möglicherweise jedoch auch auf eine mögliche Verlagerung auf andere Substanzen, etwa auf Cannabis oder Methamphetamin. Lokal dürfte es zu einer größeren Verbreitung des Methamphetaminkonsums kommen, Hinweise auf eine entsprechende Szene liegen etwa aus Oberösterreich vor.

Drogentherapie und Suchtberatung

Das Anton Proksch Institut Wien hilft Menschen, ihre Drogensucht zu überwinden. Besonders die Substitutionsbehandlung (Drogenersatztherapie) und die psychosoziale Hilfe stehen hier im Vordergrund.