The Orpheus Programme

The Orpheus Programme

The Orpheus Programme (for more information about the name of the programme see the Background to “Orpheus”) is part of the treatment provided at the Anton Proksch Institute and offers a host of different modules designed to help patients discover and rediscover their own vitality and resources. Where life is once again beautiful and filled with joy and meaning, addictive substances lose their seductive power.
 
The Orpheus modules are:
  • Nature experience modules
  • Mindfulness modules
  • Body experience modules
  • Cinema therapy
  • Creativity and lifestyle modules
  • Music and choir
  • Philosophy Academy
  • Walking and culture

The Background to “Orpheus” and “Odysseus”

Orpheus and Odysseus are two famous figures from Greek mythology. They succeeded in bringing their ships past the sirens unscathed. The sirens were notorious bird-women whose sweet and seductive song promised passing sailors beauty and pleasure, but who instead brought death and destruction. All those who heard them fell under their spell. Only Odysseus and Orpheus did not. 
 
Odysseus had his men tie him to the ship’s mast and ordered the crew to seal their ears with wax in order to resist the temptation. Struggle, compulsion and self-flagellation – a method that has little to recommend it in the treatment of addiction today.
 
Orpheus chose a different method. When he and the Argonauts sailed past the sirens, he took his lyre and sang so beautifully that he drowned out the sirens – he played the better music and did not have to scourge himself to resist the spell of the sirens.
 
In the Orpheus programme we try to help people “sing better and more beautifully”, to discover their own creativity and means of expression thus empowering them to use other strategies to resist the “temptations” of drugs.

Das Orpheusprogramm

Das Orpheusprogramm

Das Orpheusprogramm (zum Namen des Programms siehe Hintergrund zu „Orpheus“) ist Teil der Therapie des Anton Proksch Instituts und soll durch unterschiedlichste Module zur Neu- und Wiederentdeckung der eigenen Lebenskräfte beitragen. Wo das Leben wieder schön, lust- und sinnvoll wird, haben Suchtmittel keine Verführungskraft.
 
Die verschiedenen Orpheusmodule sind:
  • Naturerlebnismodule
  • Achtsamkeitsmodule
  • Körpererlebnismodule
  • Kinotherapie
  • Kreativität- und Lebensgestaltungsmodule
  • Musik und Chor
  • Philosophikum
  • Wandern und Kultur

Hintergrund zu „Orpheus“ und „Odysseus“

Die Figuren Orpheus und Odysseus stammen aus der griechischen Mythologie. Sie kamen mit ihren Schiffen übers Meer unverwundet und lebend an den Sirenen vorbei, den berühmt-berüchtigten Mischwesen der Antike aus Vogel und Mensch. Die Sirenen versprachen durch ihren süßen und verführerischen Gesang den vorbeifahrenden Schiffern Schönheit und Genuss, brachten jedoch Tod und Verderben. Wer sie hörte, verfiel ihnen. Nur Odysseus und Orpheus nicht. 
 
Odysseus ließ sich von seinen Kameraden an einen Schiffsmast binden und befahl den Ruderern, sich die Ohren mit Wachs zu versiegeln, um der Verführung Stand zu halten. Kampf, Zwang und Selbstgeißelung – eine Methode, die in der heutigen Suchttherapie wenig empfehlenswert ist.
 
Orpheus wählte eine andere Methode. Als er und die Argonauten an den Sirenen vorbeischifften, nahm er seine Leier und sang so schön, dass er die Sirenen übertönte – er machte die bessere Musik und musste sich nicht selbst geißeln, um der Betörung durch die Sirenen zu wiederstehen.
 
Im Rahmen der Therapie des Orpheusprogramms versuchen wir, Menschen dabei zu helfen, „besser und schöner zu singen“, ihre eigene Kreativität und Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten zu entdecken, um den „Verlockungen“ der Suchtmittel andere Strategien entgegensetzen zu können.