Putting People First

Personalised Treatment Pathways

At the beginning of a residential rehabilitation programme at one of the three units of the Anton Proksch Institute the emphasis is on the following points:
  • stabilising the patient’s physical state
  • the diagnosis and treatment of any concurrent disorders and secondary complications
  • and on treating any withdrawal symptoms that occur
As treatment progresses  individual counselling and group therapy sessions provide a setting in which the underlying factors that trigger and sustain the illness can be explored and dealt with.

We always focus on the whole person. Physical, mental and social factors are all included in our comprehensive diagnostic process and therapy. In medicine we call this the biopsychosocial model of health and illness and this is the approach we follow.

Our multi-professional team of doctors, registered nurses, psychologists, psychotherapists, social workers and administrative staff all work together to enable you to set your sights on a life that is as autonomous and joyful as possible. You will be able to find new approaches to life and alternatives for your future. Help on this pathway is provided by the Orpheus Programme that was developed at the Anton Proksch Institute under Prim. Univ. Prof. Dr. Michael Musalek.
But you will also receive help and support from us if you need to clarify and resolve acute social, financial and legal conflicts.

At the Anton Proksch Institute alcohol addiction, gambling addiction and addiction to prescription drugs can be treated in either residential or non-residential programmes as can drug addiction (dependence on illegal substances), nicotine addiction, shopping addiction and Internet addiction.

The optimal length of a stay and the duration of treatment differ from person to person; for alcohol, prescription drug and gambling addictions it ranges from six to eight weeks.

In the case of drug therapy (treatment of dependence on illegal substances), a period of detoxification or partial detoxification lasting several weeks is followed by inpatient treatment of three, six or twelve months or by a short-stay stabilisation treatment.
The duration of treatment is always tailored to the particular needs of the individual.

As with any other illness, please consult your doctor for a referral. Alternatively, you can contact one of our Outpatient and Counselling Centres in Vienna and Lower Austria.

Counselling Centres and Information

Der Mensch im Mittelpunkt

Individuelle Therapieangebote

Am Beginn eines stationären Aufenthaltes auf einer der drei Stationen des Anton Proksch Instituts stehen folgende Punkte im Vordergrund:
  • die körperliche Stabilisierung
  • die Diagnose und Behandlung möglicher Begleit- und Folgeerkrankungen
  • und auch die Behandlung eventuell auftretender Entzugserscheinungen
im Laufe der weiteren Therapie bieten Einzelgespräche und Gruppentherapien genügend Raum, um krankheitsauslösende und krankheitserhaltende Faktoren zu ergründen und zu behandeln.

Wir berücksichtigen immer alle Aspekte eines Menschen. Körperliche, psychische und soziale Komponenten werden in die umfassende Diagnostik und Therapie einbezogen. In der Fachsprache heißt das „biopsychoziales Krankheitsverständnis“ und dem sind wir verpflichtet.

Unser multiprofessionelles Team aus ÄrztInnen, diplomierten Pflegekräften, PsychologInnen, PsychotherapeutInnen, PhysiotherapeutInnen, SozialarbeiterInnen und Verwaltungsangestellten arbeitet gemeinsam für Sie. Damit Sie Ihren Blick direkt auf ein möglichst autonomes und freudvolles Leben richten können und neue Ansätze und Alternativen für Ihre Zukunft finden. Dabei hilft auch das im Anton Proksch Institut unter Prim. Univ. Prof. Dr. Michael Musalek entwickelte "Orpheusprogramm".

Aber auch für die Abklärung und Lösung akuter sozialer, finanzieller und rechtlicher Konflikte bekommen sie bei uns Unterstützung und Hilfe.

Im Anton Proksch Institut wird Alkoholsucht, Spielsucht und Medikamentensucht in ambulanter oder stationärer Behandlung, aber auch Drogensucht (Abhängigkeit von illegalen Substanzen), Nikotinsucht, Kaufsucht und Internetsucht behandelt.
.
Die optimale Aufenthalts- und Behandlungsdauer ist individuell verschieden, bei Alkohol-, Medikamenten-, und Spielsucht bewegt sie sich zwischen sechs und acht Wochen.

Bei der Drogentherapie (Behandlung der Abhängigkeit von illegalen Substanzen) gibt es nach der mehrere Wochen dauernden Entzugs-, oder Teilentzugsbehandlung  verschieden lange Therapieaufenthalte von drei, sechs oder zwölf Monaten oder eine stabilisierende einmonatige Kurzzeitbehandlung.
Die Behandlungsdauer wird immer je nach Bedarf individuell festgelegt.

Wenden Sie sich wie bei jeder anderen Erkrankung an einen Arzt/eine Ärztin Ihres Vertrauens. Darüber hinaus stehen Ihnen auch unsere  Ambulatorien und Beratungsstellen in Wien und Niederösterreich zur Verfügung.